Scent of a Woman

Do certain smells trigger memories for you?

For me nothing brings back memories more quickly or more vividly than scent. The smell of sawdust and freshly cut wood reminds me of when my Dad would pick me up from preschool in his work truck. The slightest whiff of Chanel No 5 has me looking for my grandmother and new car air fresheners make me queasy because they remind me of an ex boyfriend who loved his car more than he ever loved me.

So when I decided that I needed a new scent for summer I wanted it to evoke memories of the best parts of summer: sunny days, sea breezes, cold beer, backyard BBQs, etc. I realized that trying to explain this to a salesperson would only be confusing (for them) and embarrassing (for me) so I set off on my own.

Countless sneezes and nose wrinkles later I happily left the perfume counter with a scent that for me perfectly summed up summer…

Chaps by Ralph Lauren

After coming across too many heavy sweet floral scents I decided that I wanted a fragrance from the opposite end of the spectrum. I waned something woodsy and dare I say a bit spicy. I found the perfect scent combination in Ralph Lauren’s Chaps. Yes I know it’s for men but so what? It smells like only the best parts of summer and who am I to argue with that.

According to this ah-mazing throw back commercial Chaps is a cologne that “…a man (or woman) can put on as naturally as a worn leather jacket or pair of jeans…”

Sounds pretty good right?

Do you have a signature scent? Would you ever wear cologne? What smells remind you of summer?

2 responses to “Scent of a Woman

  1. Oooooh….I’m going to have to go out and take a sniff of this stuff! I love wearing men’s cologne. One of my favorites is Ralph Lauren Polo, which smells amazing with a worn leather jacket. Lately I’ve been wearing patchouli a lot, but I also like Body Shop’s white musk for summer.

  2. Pingback: Wore Out’s Look of the Week | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

