Wrapped up with a Bow

Sunnies: Chinatown, Blazer: Silence + Noise (via Urban Outfitters),

Top: Forever 21 (via Clothes Exchange), Skirt: Forever 21, Tights: Target,

Boots: Rocket Dog (via Shoe Metro)without all my layers seriously considering a spray tan after seeing how much light my skin reflects

When I woke up it was cold, damp and sprinkling so I layered tights under my skirt and kept warm with a shimmery Silence + Noise blazer. By the time I was able to sneak outside to take these pictures it was sunny and the temps were climbing into the mid 70s. I stripped off my layers and was surprised how much the look changed. My look went from modest but modern to relatively risqué.

I got this top at the Clothes Exchange and I was worried that the giant sequin bow it would make me look like a tween so I added the boots and high-waisted skirt to offset some of the youthfulness.

The next time I wear this outfit I would probably try it with a different pair of shoes. The boots were too heavy for the springtime sunshine and gave it a fall/winter feel. For a more seasonally appropriate look I would try pairing it with a fun pair of bright wedges, metallic gladiator sandals (with the too cute ankle wrap) or a pair of peep toe ankle booties.

What shoes would you pair with this look? Do you think this top is too juvenile?

9 responses to “Wrapped up with a Bow

  1. cute top! 🙂

  2. the bow shirt is so cute!

    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

  3. as you said, i think the skirt offsets the ‘youthfulness’ of the top 🙂 but even by itself, i don’t think it would be THAT young looking.

    http://dani.kastorandpollux.com

  4. Bows are so cute! Make me feel like a little girl again – in a good way. 🙂

    Also, I am seriously SCARED of that AXE in the last post. I hope nothing was chopped off! 😉

    Thank you visiting my blog and leaving a lovely comment – means a lot to me! 🙂 X

    P.S. Don’t forget to check out my giveaway!

    http://mademoiselle-la-la.blogspot.com/

  5. I love your shirt with the bow! It’s super adorable! 😀
    And I love your haircolor so much ^-^

    London & Paris

    ps: you can still join our chanel giveaway!

  6. no way! that top is lovely…i want one! the whole outfit would be super cute with some tan wedge sandals! but you look fantastic as is!

  7. Adorable top, love it with the skirt!

  8. I don’t think the shirt looks tweeny at all based on how you styled it here! My first thought was “yowza” with the close-fitting high-waisted skirt. I love this look. I agree that the boots give it a more autumnal feel but I still think you did a great job putting the look together, regardless of the season.

  9. Pingback: Wore Out’s Look of the Week | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

