A Prairie Home

Sunnies: Greece, Top: Gifted, Belt: Vintage via my Mom, Skirt: H&M,

Slip (not seen): Vintage (via Etsy), Jean Jacket: T.J Maxx, Tote: Gifted

Cape Cod Bracelet: Gifted, Ring: Gifted, Mocs: Lands’ End

I took these photos over the weekend while it was still sunny and spring like in Burlington. Now we’re facing over a week of rain with a chance of “some sun” on Monday! Burlington like many other Vermont communities affected by the record high flooding this spring are bracing for the worst as Lake Champlain and Vermont’s rivers begin to swell again while the rain continues to fall.

While D and I were on vacation I dragged him into H&M in Philly and proceeded to spend an hour (my given time limit) frantically trying outfits on as fast as I could. I’d been searching for the perfect white maxi prairie/hippy skirt for a while so when I spotted this gem I didn’t hesitate. It was exactly what I’d been looking for and while it is a bit sheer the vintage slips that I picked up from Etsy (a million years ago) worked like a charm.

I wore this outfit over the weekend when D and I ran errands downtown and went out for a quick dinner. Since we were walking I wanted to wear flats but I was worried about the skirt dragging so I decided to try and wear it high-waisted and ended up loving the result. I’m looking forward to trying it with other skirts in my closet. By adding a thick waist belt and tucking in my sweater I was able to completely changed the look and feel of my outfit. Playing with proportions and adding simply accessories are quick (and cheap) ways to make your wardrobe really work for you.

Will you be rocking a maxi skirt this summer? What accessories do you pair with your maxi skirt?

6 responses to “A Prairie Home

  1. This outfit it adorable! Just screams spring. You look so pretty!

    Did you get that bracelet from Chris? It looks a lot a few she’s given me.

    • Thanks Dana! I wish the sunny weather had stayed. Instead we’re drowning in rain! Kirsten got me this bracelet but Chris has given me some gorgeous jewelry (bracelets specifically now that you mention it) in the past! Hope you’re still enjoying newly wedded bliss and thank you for frequenting my blog, it means a lot!

  2. I think this is one of your best outfits yet!

  3. your skirt is so pretty and i love those shoes!

    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

  4. what a beautiful skirt!

  5. Pingback: Friday Finery & Frivolities: Rethinking and Refocusing | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

