Inspiration Come to Life

Sunnies: Greece, Moto Jacket (not pictured): T.J Maxx,

Dress: Vintage (via Downtown Threads), Belt: The Possibilities Shop,

Booties: Bamboo (via Amazon)

Having fashion déjà vu?

Here’s why.

A month and a day ago I posted a special Face Hunter edition of Friday Finery & Frivolities. I’d been in a style rut and it took coming across this photo to set me right again. I found the mix of patterns unexpected but they worked together flawlessly.

Two weeks ago when Downtown Threads posted a picture of the dress I’m wearing above on their facebook page it instantly reminded me of the Face Hunter photograph and I knew I had to have it. The dress was a bit big (hence the bunching and poofing in the chest area) but when I added the red belt I was able to tuck in some of the excess fabric so there was minimal bunching.

At first I wasn’t sure if the booties would work well with the colors in the dress but I decided to stick with them and I’m really glad I did becuase I love how this look turned out! I usually pair these booties with neutrals or solid colors but now I’m starting to realize that they are much more versatile than I gave them credit for.

I think recreating this look was extremely helpful for me. It gave me the opportunity to pair different patterns together and it also showed me how easy it can be to take what you already have and turn it into something that inspires you.

Have you ever copied an outfit? What recent looks have inspired you?

5 responses to “Inspiration Come to Life

  1. cute dress, i love the violet color scheme!

    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

  2. Perhaps my favorite post thus far!

    • Thanks Alicia! I’m seriously loving this dress, I’m thinking it will make a good beach cover up since it’s so sheer.

  3. I LOVE THIS. It is pattern mixing at its finest; the prints don’t go together at all in the traditional sense which is what makes it so fabulous. Mismatching items this intentionally always comes across as so stylish and put-together to me. Well done!! PS, the shoesssss. love them.

  4. Pingback: Friday Finery & Frivolities: Rethinking and Refocusing | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

