How to Get Your Boyfriend to Eat Broccoli

you can see the sizzle

Broccoli has always been one of my favorite vegetables and is a staple in my diet and fridge. I toss it in when I’m making spaghetti sauce, I add it to salads, eat it raw with dressing, broccoli is a verstile veggie. Usually I have at least one broccoli crown in the crisper.

D on the other hand hasn’t always been a fan of this superfood but all my harassment delicious cooking has him “developing a taste for it” now.  One broccoli dish that D really enjoyed (without any coaxing from me) was stir fry broccoli. I used this recipe as starting point and made little tweaks as I went.

Instead of using 1/4 cup of veggie oil like the recipe above calls for I coated the bottom of a med – large size fry pan with toasted sesame oil. I also substituted Bragg’s for regular soy sauce. Personally I just prefer the taste of the Bragg’s.

I didn’t have any chicken broth so I used chicken bullion and while I was warming the bullion I added a few slivers of ginger to the broth. I strained the broth and then slowly added in the corn starch, sugar, salt, and Braggs.

While the sauce was simmering I added the broccoli to the sautéed garlic and sesame oil. I cooked it high for about 4 minutes, stirring constantly.

After cooking on high for 4 minutes I slowly added the sauce to the broccoli and cooked the mixture on high for another minute or so, constantly stirring.

Once all the broccoli was coated with sauce I turned the heat down to low, covered the pan and let the broccoli simmer in the sauce until we were ready to sit down and eat, about 4 minutes. I wouldn’t recommended letting it simmer longer than 10  minutes as the broccoli may start to get mushy.

Serve with your favorite Asian inspired meals or with cheese burgers like we did. It was delicious but the next time I make this dish I’m going to try adding a little bit of spice. If you’re not a fan of spice you  could  add some peanut butter and honey to the sauce mixture and throw some chopped peanuts and sliced carrots in while the broccoli cooks for a more pad Thai style dish. Don’t be afraid of playing around with the flavors and ingredients and make it your own.

Are you a broccoli fan? What veggies do you have a hard time eating? What recipes have you been experimenting with lately?  

One response to “How to Get Your Boyfriend to Eat Broccoli

  1. Pingback: Friday Finery & Frivolities: Rethinking and Refocusing | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

