Twirling Dervish

Sunnies: H&M, Necklace: Forever 21, Top: Thrifted in Italy, Belt: Target, Skirt: Vintage (via Downtown Threads), Boots: Vintage (via Old Gold)

Please tell me I’m not the only one who has the uncontrollable urge to curtsey when wearing perfectly pleated summery skirts.

Maybe it’s all the sunshine Burlington has been getting (or all the cold meds I’ve been taking) but as soon as I put this skirt on I felt like twirling! I bought it a few months ago during one of my retail therapy session at Downtown Threads and I’ve been anxiously patiently waiting for the perfect sunny day to wear it! I’m usually not much for pastels but when I saw this skirt hanging up I knew I had to have it and for $10 how could I resist?

Ever since I bought it I keep pulling this skirt out of the closet and staring at it. Something about the colors and pattern are so familiar to me but I just can’t place them. I remember this skirt but I just don’t know from where, so frustrating! It seems as though I’m having a serious case of fashion déjà vu!

All mystery aside I had trouble styling this skirt. I wasn’t sure if I should pair it with wedges and a girly silk top or channel the vintage vibe with flats and a cute blazer. In the end I just walked into my closet, grabbed an arm load full of options and proceeded to try everything on at least twice before I found a look that felt right. I go through this process at least twice a week… or anytime that I don’t plan my outfit out before hand. This process lets me see all my options and then slowly helps me focus and refine my overall idea. Yes, it’s messy and time-consuming but it works for me so I’m sticking too it!

Have you ever had fashion déjà vu? Do you have a routine/process that you rely on when you’re styling a new piece or outfit?

6 responses to “Twirling Dervish

  1. that skirt has the perfect shape to it!

    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

  2. The colors make me think of creamsicles, which I consider a good thing. It looks great on you!

  3. Great pictures!! and the outfit is so nice too! xo

  4. Pingback: Inspiration Come to Life | Wore Out

  5. Pingback: Tea Party with Champ | Wore Out

  6. Pingback: Apple Picking Adventure | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

