Better Late than Never

Sunglasses: Chinatown, Scarf: Gifted, Dress: Backwoods Pond Fest Vendor, Jean Jacket: TJ Maxx, Cropped Cardi (not pictured): Charlotte Ruse, Sandals: Payless??

Yesterday was my first time participating in an EBEW challenge, I was still recuperating so my submission photo was sub-par at best. To make up for my lack of florals yesterday I unpacked this bold floral gem from my summer box and took it out for a spin! I love unpacking my summer and spring clothes I always forget what I packed away so it’s like getting a whole new wardrobe just without the shopping guilt.

I bought this dress from a wonderful Nepalese couple this past fall while I was at Backwoods Pondfest, (if you’ve never been it’s a small, low-key festival in upstate New York that I would highly recommend checking out.) Last year was my first time attending and I’m already looking forward to going back this year!

I know this season has been all about the maxi but I’m kind of loving this length with the drop waist/hem. It’s perfect for showing off your gladiator or wrap sandals. I love how bold the pattern on this dress is but the simple color palette keeps the overall effect relatively subtle, making it easy to work into any wardrobe. The fabric is lightweight, without being sheer and handles wrinkles really well making it the perfect dress to pack on all your summer travels. Keep your look casual like I did with sandals and a cropped jean jacket or for a night out add a towering pair of wedges, some bangles and a bright blazer and you’re good to go.

Burlington has been enjoying it’s first real stretch of sunny weather and everyone is looking for an excuse to get outdoors. Despite the sunshine the wind coming off the lake has still been chilly so I layered a cardigan and light jean jacket over my dress to keep warm. I know I always talk about layering but even in the summer layers come in handy. I always have a scarf or shrug tucked in my bag during the summer because so many places have their AC cranked that it’s freezing when you get indoors. Being prepared is always fashionable.

Have you unpacked your warm weather clothes? What pieces are you looking to add to your summer wardrobe?

2 responses to “Better Late than Never

  1. It’s been in the 70s for the past two days around here, but I don’t trust it, so I’m just wearing an insane amalgam of clothing that wouldn’t pass for stylish if you were a blind person. I love that dress!

  2. loving that maxi dress 🙂 i want another oversized sweater so i dont have to wear my red one every day haha

    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

Leave a Reply

