Caught Clowning Around

Sunnies: Chinatown, Long Sleeve Top: Target,

Vintage Woven Waist Belt: Lands’ End (via my mom),

Tube Dress (worn as a skirt): Charlotte Ruse,

Tights: Target, Boots: Rocket Dog (via Shoe Metro)

Usually I’m sneaking behind buildings or taking over friends backyards for photos but this morning I decided to buck up. These are the first pictures I’ve taken with my tripod in a very public place and you better believe people were watching me scurry back and forth from the camera. I looked like a total lunatic and people had no problem telling me so.I’ll give you something to stare at, I have no problem acting a foolDresses with pockets are the best!

I know I sound like a broken record but I love layering. I bought this tube dress a few years ago and never wear it because the ruffle top is ugly err.. hard to style. To keep this look simple I decided to cover the ruffles with a plain black top. (Layering tip 101: having simple separates is essential they allow for maxim layering options.) I just folded the top under and then tucked it into my belt, you can kind of see it in the pictures above.

I remember my mom wearing this belt when I was a kid and I love that I get to wear it now. My mom saved some great pieces for me and I plan on doing the same thing for my nieces now and maybe for my own kiddies one day.

What items in your closet are you planning on saving forever? What pieces do you use to layer?

6 responses to “Caught Clowning Around

  1. Very cute, love your boots, macht perfect with the outfit

  2. First of all, wearing dresses as skirts and tops is my favorite method for remixing your wardrobe so I am totally loving your innovation with this outfit. I also LOVE those boots and Im totally jealous of your shoe collection. I have several items that I hope will last forever but half of my wardrobe is thrifted, half is Forever 21 and my bet is that the thrifted stuff outlasts the F21 fast-fashion stuff.

  3. This is one of my favorite outfits you’ve posted! Love the details of it, and it gave me some good ideas! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Floral Tanks | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

