Burlington’s Underwater Front

 
Sunnies: Gift from D, Blouse: Macy’s,
Maxi Dress: Target (forever ago), Broach: Dub’s Duds, Sandals: H&M
 

If you’re not a Burlingtonian you may not realize that craziest part of this photo isn’t my pose but how high the Spirit of Ethan Allen (the boat behind me)  is sitting. Lake Champlain hit a record 102.84 feet Sunday May 1st and with more rain predicted this week that number and the lake are expected to rise.

I this maxi dress from Target 4-5 years ago and the first time I wore it I loved it. The dress can be worn as a halter or strapless with a sweetheart neckline and is beyond comfortable. My favorite thing about maxi dresses is how effortless they are. They make any outfit seem pulled together, they can easily be dressed up or down and are great for those days when you want to be as comfortable as you are chic.

I decided to make the dress’s sweatheart neckline and my blouse’s sheerness more office appropriate by layering the two together and I must say I’m pleased with how it turned out. This is the second time I’ve worn this sheer blouse under a dress (1st time here) and I’m really liking how this silhouette turned out. My only complaint is that I hate when I layer a shirt under a dress and it bunches up underneath. Does anyone have any good solutions to this problem?

I used the gifted broach from my friend Dubs to break up the look of the top layers and to try and tie in my bright new salmon colored sandals. Even though they don’t really match this look’s muted color palette I think the salmon adds just enough color to keep things fresh and bright.

How are you wearing your maxi dress this spring/summer? What’s your favorite way to add pops of color to your outfits?

8 responses to “Burlington’s Underwater Front

  1. that green dress is a fabulous color!
    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

  2. You tricked me, I thought the blouse and the dress were one item! Excellent pairing! That green goes wonderfully on you.

  3. I love how you layered the maxi, it works perfectly.
    As for the shirt bunching I usually wear a slip under dresses, and tuck my cami into it.

  4. I’m definitely a fan of maxi dresses. I’ve recently added 3 to my wardrobe. 😀 I love how you styled yours with a blouse.

    xx Love & Aloha

  5. Love the color of that dress and your smart layering!

  6. wow, what a unique way to style a maxi dress! you look lovely.

    • Thanks! The BF bargained for the shades while we were on vacation in NYC last month. I love buying pieces when I travel because it adds to their appeal and story!

Leave a Reply

