Scrumptious Shrimp Scampi

If you follow me on Twitter then you know may have read my tweets of bliss after eating this meal.D adding a final dash of pepper

I’ve been a fan of Simply Recipes for a long time. The recipes are richly detailed and are accompanied by beautiful (and detailed) photographs. A few weeks ago I tweeted about this shrimp scampi recipe from Simply Recipe.  Not only did it look delicious but after glancing it over it seemed relatively quick and easy.

D and I decided to have the scampi over linguine. We followed the recipe and then I cooked a box of linguine according to the package directions. Once the pasta was cooked I drained it and then returned it to the warm pot and added butter, salt, pepper, some fresh parsley, a squirt of lemon juice and a generous portion of shredded Parmesan cheese. The light dressing on the pasta went perfectly with the garlicky goodness of the shrimp.

Just to make sure we were getting enough carbs I made a quick batch of garlic bread. I melted some butter, garlic, and pepper in the microwave and brushed it over half inch thick slices of local Italian bread. I topped them with parsley and more shredded Parmesan cheese then put them under the broiler for 3-5 minutes. They were super easy to make and ended up being perfect for soaking up all the sauce at the end.

Over all this recipe was quick, easy and absolutely wonderful. We will definitely be making it again. D and I agreed that the next time we make it we’re going to add some more heat. We also talked about adding bay scallops and using sherry instead of white wine. I love recipes that lend themselves well to substitutions.

What food blogs do you follow? When you’re trying a new recipe do you follow it to the letter or do you treat it more like guidelines? 

2 responses to “Scrumptious Shrimp Scampi

  1. wow that looks fantastic!

    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

  2. This looks AMAZING!! I’m starving, too, haha.

    As for trying new recipes… I usually follow it fairly strictly unless I know it might be too spicy or something. Experimentation & tweaking usually comes afterwards.

Leave a Reply

