LBD Co-Lab Look #4 One Thing is Not Like the Other

Cropped Moto Jacket: TJ Maxx, LBD, Belt: The Possibilities Shop,

Skirt: Handmade Vintage (via Downtown Threads), Tights: Gifted

Moccasins: Minnetonka (via The Kittery Trading Post)

This outfit put me a bit outside my comfort zone. Normally I wouldn’t have thought to use a LBD as a top because of it’s length, but Carolyn assured me it would work and  I really liked how it turned out. I doubt many people would realize it was a dress.

The cropped cut of the jacket and the thin belt draw the eye in at my waist adding shape to my silhouette. Usually I wouldn’t have paired this look with moccasins but Carolyn insisted that they gave the outfit the Burlingtonian vibe it was missing and I went with it. I ended up kind of liking the unexpected vibe the moccasin gave the outfit.

I think that I’m going to start layer more dresses under skirts and vise versa. Using them as layering pieces gives you so many more remixing options. I love how this dress looked as a top (an LBT). I can definitely see myself wearing this outfit again but I would probably change up the shoes, swapping the mocs out for a pair of bright pumps or booties.

Do you layer skirts and dresses a lot? What do you think of the mocs with this outfit? What shoes would you stly this outfit with? 

4 responses to “LBD Co-Lab Look #4 One Thing is Not Like the Other

  1. lovely maxi skirt, and fabulous tights!

    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

  2. I love the idea of the 5 LBD posts! this skirt is so awesome!

    XO
    Femi

  3. The print on that skirt is so up my alley, and I’m digging the length as well- midi lengths on so on-trend right now but even if they weren’t, they’re such a classic, classy silhouette. And I think the moccasins are an unexpected combination with the look and they do give it a sort of down-town vibe. Very cool with the jacket.
    Layering dresses under skirts is my number one remix tool. It makes packing for trips so much easier too!

  4. Pingback: Rain Rain Go Away! | Wore Out

Leave a Reply

