We Were Literally in a Castle

Jacket: Downtown Threads, Scarf: Forever 21

Cardi (not pictured): Charlotte Ruse, Dress: Forever 21,

Tights: The Sox Market, Clutch: Gifted,

Cameo Bracelet: Dub’s Duds’, Pumps: Dollhouse (via TJ Maxx)

A week ago today D and I were at Hammond Castle in Gloucester, Massachusetts for my cousin’s wedding reception and we were both blown away by the experience.  If you are looking for a unique, historical, and memorable venue with stunning views of the rocky New England coast then Hammond Castle is the place for you. The ambiance is second to none!

 The reception was held in the castle’s great hall. At one end of the great hall was a massive stone stairway that lead into the indoor atrium which had an indoor stone swimming pool surrounded by beautiful flowers and trees. The atrium’s ceiling is glass so as the light changed so did the feel of the room,which only added to the enchantment.

During the reception about 25 rooms in the castle were open. Guests were allowed to roam freely or take a guided tour.  D and I ended up jumping onto the last tour of the night with my mom and sister, and it was a riot. The tour guide (a lovely older gentleman named John) was full of wonderful stories about the castle and it’s owner John Hammond. Our tour guide kept referring to my sister and I as “majesty” because during medieval times red heads were revered as royalty (I told you he was wonderful)!

My cousin and his wife both looked radiant (I swear a post honeymoon glow is better than any facial)! It was such a wonderful night and I couldn’t be happier for them. I tried to take more photos but by the time D and I were able to sneak away it was really dark. These photos don’t even come close to doing this place justice.

I kept my outfit simple as it was a casual affair. I love how easily a leather jacket, pumps, and bold accessories class up a simple sun dress. By the end of the night I was glad I kept my jacket on as the castle got a bit chilly.

What’s your idea of the perfect reception venue? Would you wear white to a wedding reception?

3 responses to “We Were Literally in a Castle

  1. Sounds like it was wonderful, you look lovely!

  2. Yay! The post I’ve been waiting for. As always, you looked so stinking cute that night. Loved the jacket with the dress! I’m so disappointed I never got a chance for a tour. By all accounts it sounded great. And thanks for the radiant comments. Love sure does make for a great glow……the same glow I noticed on you! 🙂

  3. i love your jacket! it looks amazing there!

    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

Leave a Reply

