Pippy Longstocking and Struggles with Self Doubt

true life: I’m whiter than Casper

Cardi: Forever 21 (via Plato’s Closet), Dress (w/belt): Forever 21,

Booties: Jessica Simpson (via Marshalls)

Memo to self: schedule spray tan ASAP!

Even though it was only 60 degrees I couldn’t resist the chance to soak up some sun last weekend at my parent’s house. It’s my first time sans tights since October! I’ve been in love with these booties since I picked them up a few months ago at Marshall’s for only $7! They had a few scratches near the heel so they had been marked down to a fraction of their original price. I remember holding my breath as the cashier rang them up… she was as shocked by the price as I was!

I wore this outfit to the belated birthday brunch my parents had for me when I was home. My mom ordered this great chocolate cake with cream cheese frosting from Beach Pea, one of my favorite bakeries. Seriously if you’re ever in Southern Maine you have to stop here!

While I didn’t plan on wearing braids with this outfit  the wind was causing too much of an issue so I just went with it.

It’s official, I’m smitten with these peep toe booties!

No, this is not a Justin Bieber dance move! My heels are sinking!

I have to be honest I’ve been struggling a lot this week with outfits (probably why all the pictures I’m putting up are from last weekend when I was feeling a little bit more…positive). When I go to put outfits together nothing has been looking right, everything seems off somehow.

I think I’m slipping into a fashion slump. I feel more like a lameista than a fashionista. Self-doubt has my begun to creep in and now I’ve started to wonder if my outfits are adventurous enough or polished enough to be posted. Maybe I have no business posting my thoughts on fashion and style? After all my love and excitement for fashion is very new, maybe I need time for my style to develop before I can truly be a style/fashion blogger.

I apologize for my off the cuff confession of self doubt and fashion confusion. I’ve been carrying this around week and I had to share.

What do you wear when nothing looks right? Have you experienced a fashion slump like mine?

10 responses to “Pippy Longstocking and Struggles with Self Doubt

  1. You stop that self doubt right now! You have all the charm, intellect, fashion sense and beauty to rock the socks off of anyone, or any blog! I’ve so enjoyed this little blog adventure of yours. No lie, you’ve been inspiring this cousin of yours. Since you started this, I’ve been looking at items in the store and online completely differently. I see things I can pair together that I would’ve never thought possible before. You’re helping me branch out and be more adventurous/less dull! Stop it with the self doubt and remember how beautiful you are!

    P.S. I’m still waiting to see pics of you in your outfit at the castle! 🙂

  2. ah, stop! be confident in yourself! and dress like you, not like what you think we want to see, because all we really want to see is you!

    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

  3. First, I love those booties, and cannot believe you got them so cheap.

    Second, if it makes any difference, I know what you mean about not being sure about your place in this insane little world that is the instrument, I’m right there with you lately. For what it’s worth, I always look forward to reading your posts, especially since I know you and I face similar weather challenges. Not only are you extremely stylish, but it helps me figure out ways to stay looking good in this mess of a climate. You’re also a lovely writer, and your voice really comes through in everything you’ve posted. I say, even if you feel a little slumpy, keep it up, because I think you have something really great going.

    Just my two cents! I hope you have a great weekend to blast away the blues.

  4. Pingback: Friday Finery & Frivolities: Face Hunter Edition | Wore Out

  5. I think this is something we all go through at times, especially in the beginning. Style blogging is more than just posting photos- it’s an evolution in personal style and a diary of past outfits that you can reflect on and learn from. Next time you’re struggling with self-doubt, go through the early archives of some of your favorite bloggers and remember that everyone starts somewhere and not every outfit has to be groundbreaking or trend setting. And I personally like seeing everyday interpretations of trends and ideas. Off-the-wall designer runway looks are great but they just aren’t practical for day to day duties like jobs and errands. It’s nice to see bloggers wear outfits that are relateable and simple.
    Also, I love the colors in this outfit- the blue dress and camel heels complement each other perfectly and the print on the dress will make for great remixing.

  6. That dress is cute as hell (damn you forever 21!) and the peep toe boots boots… FABULOUS!

  7. Braids and navy blue make me dream of sand and flirty hot summer cues

  8. I adore this outfit, it makes me want to go out and find all the pieces for myself…although I don’t know if I could pull it off as well as you, and I don’t think it would be the same with my brown hair instead of your stunning red hair! 🙂 Loving the combination with the navy blue, and those booties are AMAZING…funny because I don’t think I’d think they were something I could pull off, but seeing them with an outfit makes me realize I want to be more adventurous with my fashion choices!

    I adore your blog. It shows me some great ideas that I never would have considered, and is really making me think more about the way I put together my outfits. You’re doing a great job of combining high fashion and casual, comfortable clothing. It is perfect…please keep it up!! You’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

