Playing in the Park

caution: smooth logs can be very slippery when wet

Hat: Target

Button Up: Handmade Vintage (via Downtown Threads)

Tee (hidden): Charlotte Ruse

Cut-offs: made by me (using Aeropostale jeans)

Tights: Target

Wellie Liners (hidden): TJ Maxx

Wellies: Dick’s Sporting Goods

I never thought of polo as western until I got this shirt

I had so much fun taking these pictures with my friend Kerry! He’s an amazingly talented fire performer based here in Burlington ( his photography skills are pretty terrific too)!* Playing in muddy, wet, spring weather always makes me feel like a little kid again. Vermont is starting to thaw out and even though we woke up with a dusting of snow this morning I think Spring is here to stay!

When I bought this shirt at Downtown Threads I assumed (due to the cut and style) that the scenes on the shirt were western ones… as you can see from the image above I was wrong. The shirt is covered in scenes from a polo match! I didn’t try this gem on while I was in the store so imagine my surprise when I got it home and tried it only to realize that this shirt was handmade and fit me like a dream! I love when things work out that way!

I just realized this is the second time I’m wearing shorts this week! I’m making strides toward conquering my shorts phobia; the next step… shorts without tights. I think I’m hesitant to wear shorts with bare legs becuase I’m extremely self conscious about my thighs. For some reason I just can’t get past the idea of my big ole white thighs being out there for all to see.

That being said sometimes all it takes is finding the perfect piece of clothing to make you realize what you’ve been missing out on all along. So here’s hoping that the perfect pair of shorts (preferably lace with scalloped edges) is out there somewhere waiting for me to find them!

What trends were you hesitant to try at first but love now? What’s your idea of the perfect pair of shorts for this spring/summer?

 

*For information about Kerry, his fire performances, videos of past performances, and more please visit Kerry Kaye Fire Performances

5 responses to “Playing in the Park

  1. i love that top 🙂

    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

  2. I can’t believe you bought that top without trying it on. I’m happy it looks so cute on you! I’d like to see it with the cuffs buttoned or rolled up too though.

  3. Love the top, the pattern is so cute!

  4. Pingback: Please Excuse the Interruption… | Wore Out

  5. Nice pics & outfit!

Leave a Reply

